Food for thought … and the people in our lives.

Life Brick wall Single Word Text Background Clean Concept

Life Shouldn’t Be A Brick Wall……..

Food For Thought…. and the people in our lives.

Being brutally honest — Change sucks – especially at times when it comes to the people in our lives.  Just when you feel comfortable, safe and secure in your “atmosphere”, out of the blue it happens. You don’t even see it coming – poof – change – Some good, some bad but almost always totally unexpected. You’re not ready for what’s to come, it probably hadn’t even crossed your mind but you are totally blindsided and it sends you reeling in the opposite direction. Nothing is ever guaranteed in our life, except death.

It is inevitable – people come and go, in and out of our lives constantly. Most people you can count on to stick around for longer periods of time but there are several throughout our lifetime that just seem to disappear into the darkness. For whatever reason, be it life, love or circumstance. It happens, they don’t mean to cause hurt or hard feelings and in reality, most of the time, they do not even realize what has happened until it just hits them one day – “whatever happened to so and so” and then fades back into the memories of our mind.

happy_people

People come into our lives showering us with their presence, a new common bond or thread, a new feeling or experience. Some of these people last for years and years and in actuality by the time you reach your golden years, you can count on one hand how many true friends that you have had throughout the years. Sad – I know but true. People call us their friends and even at times they truly mean it but as time goes on, their friendship fades and diminishes over time.

Human nature dictates our future it seems and unless we have a firm grip on our convictions, we lose ourselves along the way. I have been family, I have been a friend, an enemy, a lover, a son, a brother, a husband, a Dad , laughing-smiley-face-emoticon-RcA6KpMRi but through it all I have been me. I have been real, I have been fake, I have loved and I have been loved. Just like the rest of us here on this great big rock that we live on. We all acclimate to our surrounding in some form or fashion and try to fit in the best that we can. We must always remember – that we are all human; we make mistakes and bad choices. We try to learn from the negative and correct it and strive to make us a better people.

Sometimes in a relationship, people leave us or choose to be with others instead and that most oftentimes hurts – a lot. Others – well not so much. The cause varies and people move away, they find other friends or choose activities that do not resonate with you and they move on. They get busy, they get different jobs, they develop other interests and sometimes relationships grow apart at times. People pull away for one reason or another. Sometimes you understand it and sometimes it remains a mystery. And then there are some times, distance, choices or some other situation simply ends a friendship. Cuts it right on the dotted line and removes it all together.

Whatever the reason, life does move on – new people and new friends will come along with some new and unexpected experiences. Sometimes it’s not them that outgrow you but you that outgrow them. Life has a way of teaching us and exposing us to other interests throughout each season and some of these things we tend to gravitate toward instead of away from and with that come even more people who share the same interests and objectives. Life ebbs and flows constantly just like the sea and with each new “tide” bring new treasures, new experiences and new memories. Life – Live it, Love it, and then leave it for others to enjoy.

candle out

I would like to try and live my life so that people would remember me not for all the mistakes that I made along the way but for all the good that I tried to do – Funny how life gets in the way of that. I have always been the type of person who looks for the good in people, for that silver lining. I almost always find the bad but there is still a lot of good in this world. And in this world, it’s just me and you. It is up to us to look past the hurt, the color, the negative and see the real person, see the real situation and try to make the best out of this real situation. We all need to quit making more out of certain conditions and finally become “the human race”. We all need to find that common bond that unites us all as children of God and stop all of this backstabbing, undermining and negative things in our lives – The circumstances that we have created and somehow choose to be in.

After having grown up a bit (it only took me about 30 years) I want people to know that they can count on me and even want to be around me. I want to show people that there is love in this world. I would like to always show people my best side and be there for them at all times whenever I can. I have many regrets from my youth for the way that I have treated people in my life and there have been times in my life where I wasn’t such a great person. I have never claimed to be perfect and I am sure that my actions may have even driven people away from me. Life’s experiences have taught me many things and I can finally be truthful with myself. You see – that is the key to true happiness. If nothing else – just be honest and true to yourself first, and you will quickly see just how life is not so bad after all. Just as a Junkie or an alcoholic, you must first admit your shortcomings, your mistakes and your bad choices. Then you must make a conscience effort to avoid making those same mistakes and try living your life a little more positive. One step at a time is all it takes and consistency is the key.

heart rockenjoy-life-691462.jpghappiness rock

Leave a Reply

