My Low Carb Update……

An update on my article titled “Low Carbs is so simple they said, Eat it – you’ll like it they said – Enough Already!” written on May 30th of this year (2017) – almost 4 months ago! hard to believe it has been that long.

Not that anyone cares really but I have to say a few words about what I went through to get to this point. Being brutally honest here – I started out at 308 POUNDS!!!!!!! – I am now down to 245 pounds and the way I figure it, I am about half way there. I look back and think of how hard it was in the beginning to adapt to this lifestyle change. And let me tell you – it really was a lifestyle change. The first three weeks were the hardest but after that is wasn’t all that bad.

The very first thing I had to do was to purge my pantry and refrigerator of all of the High Carb foods that were in there. Now keep in mind, I have 2 kids still at home along with my wife (who has never needed to diet in her whole life – 94 pounds when we first met – Sheesh). You wouldn’t believe the foods that were High Carb. After the great purge, I went from sliced breads to Low Carb Tortilla wraps (because I loved my sammiches) ! Now with that being said – I also cut out high sugars and my favorite Sweet Tea. I switched to Crystal Light Sweet Tea which is really good and satisfied my need. I cut out potato chips and went to Carolina Country Snacks – Pork Skins zero Carbs and topped with Pimento Cheese Spread is the perfect snack for me! I also went from mashed potatoes to mashed cauliflower with cheese. It’s really good with salt and pepper. Absolutely zero Soft Drinks – the amount of carbs in those are through the roof!

I have still been doing Thrive for my energy level and feel great most of the time. As most of you already know, I have knee and ankle issues and so I take some heavy painkillers for that through pain management but overall, I feel pretty good. After all this time, my cravings are way under control and I even resist and refuse certain snacks and meals. Sure – I cheat every once in a while (I’m not trying to kill myself) but I do allow a bite of this and that every so often. It keeps my body and mind confused! I still stay between 30 and 50 carbs per day which keeps me right there at Ketosis and the state of constantly burning my own fats.

Now I am sure that this last leg of my journey is going to be a little harder but I now feel that I have the mental and physical faculties that are needed to make it happen. Although I now have to work on some toning exercises because of the loose saggy skin, I have no doubt that I can do this. Another product plug is for “Premier Protein” from Sams’ Club it has 30 grams of protein with only 4 grams of carbs and fills you up for a lunchtime meal.

For all of you Non- Believers  – THIS IS REAL! This really works – at least for me it has. I know that if I can do this – you can do this. You just have to make your mind up to do it. Even if it’s just a little change – you will be surprised at the difference it can make.

